School of Computing

Boniface Kayode Alese, PhD

Professor of Information and Cyber Security

Boniface Kayode Alese, PhD; is a Professor of Information and Cyber Security in the Department of Cyber Security, The Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria. He joined the services of The Federal University of Technology in 1998 as a Graduate Assistant and rose through the ranks to become a Professor in 2014. He holds a PhD degree in Computer Science with specialisation in Information and Cyber Security from The Federal University of Technology, Akure, in 2004. He is a registered Information Technology practitioner. He is also a member of Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (IEEE), Computer Society, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA), Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) and Cyber Security Experts Association of Nigeria (CSEAN) among members.

Professor B. K. Alese was the Chair occupant of The First Bank of Nigeria endowment in Computer Science between 2012 and 2016. He was instrumental to the effective take off of Cyber Security as a course of study in Nigeria. He has served in various capacities within the University such as Ag. Head of Department, Dean, Students’ Affairs, Chairman of Various Committees among many others. He is Visiting Professor to University of Mines and Technology, Tarkwa, Ghana. He is the current Dean of the School of Computing, The Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria.

Professor Alese is the strategic Advisor, Cyber Diplomat, United States of America, He is a member University Governing Council of the Federal University of Technology, Akure. He has published over 280 articles in reputable journals and referred conference proceedings. He has successfully supervised 34 PhD students to graduation as a major supervisor both within and outside Nigeria, while he has also successfully co-supervised another 36 PhD students to graduation. He has successfully mentored over 20 entrepreneurs and innovators in the field of Information Technology. He is the current Dean of School of Computing.